Tampilkan postingan dengan label Photoshop basics. Tampilkan semua postingan
Tampilkan postingan dengan label Photoshop basics. Tampilkan semua postingan

Selasa, 15 Maret 2016

How to use the clone stamp tool (Photoshop)

Before and after the clone stamp tool has been used

The clone stamp tool is a very useful tool in Photoshop. It allows you to clone one area of an image and copy (stamp) it onto another area.

Step 1.

So first, in Photoshop, open any image from your computer by clicking File > Open.

Open file

Select file

The clone stamp tool is located below the brush tool and above history brush tool. You can also use the keyboard short-cut "S"  to use the clone stamp tool.

Clone Stamp Tool

Step 2.

Once we click the Clone Stamp Tool, the options bar at the top of the screen will populate with the associated clone stamp tool options. You can set your clone stamp options for the brush size, type, shape, opacity, flow and blending modes.

Option bar for Clone Stamp Tool

If you only want to copy an exact area of an image you will leave the default settings here but you can also change the brush size and shape.

Image before the clone stamp tool is used

Step 3.

So this is what our image looks like before, let's say that I want to remove the house that's hanging down from the balloons. I hold alt and left click on area I want to copy from, in this case that would be another area of the white cloud. And slowly brush over the house. (You will get a preview of the action by hovering the brush over the area before you click to paint/clone).

Image after some use of the clone stamp tool

Step 4.

You can see that the copied cloud area is now covering the house. Keep repeating until the house is completely gone or you have achieved the desired cloning effect that you want.

The house now covered by 'cloned' clouds using the clone stamp tool

Play around with different brush settings and options and try replacing different areas of your image to practice and get the hang of your Clone Stamp Tool.




Baca selengkapnya

Senin, 29 Februari 2016

Create a Cartoon Character

The completed cartoon character will look something like this
1. To create this cartoon character we will be using vector graphics created by the shape tool, pen tool and associated Photoshop tools and techniques. First create a new A4 canvas in Photoshop by going to File-> New and choosing international paper and then A4. You could choose any other size but if you wish to follow this tutorial exactly then you need to choose an A4 canvas size.

2. The first part of the character we will create is the body, represented by a simple circle. Use the elliptical shape tool to click and drag out an ellipse and then hold on the shift key (while still clicking and dragging) to get a perfect circle. You can resize the circle once you have released the mouse using Edit-> Transform-> Scale. Try to create a circle approximately half the width, and one third the height of the overall canvas. To change the colour of the circle double click on the Finally, in the layers window, right click on the layer, select layer properties and name the layer 'body'.

3. Next, while still on your 'body' layer, go to Layer-> Layer Styles-> Blending Options. In the window which opens select inner shadow and stroke and set the options to those shown in the image below.





4. Next we will create the eyes of our little character. Again we will use the ellipse shape tool to create two ellipses for the eyes. Set the colour to white, add a stroke of between 10pt and 20pt and name each layer 'right eye' and 'left eye'. Now to reshape the eyes into the shapes shown below; First use the add anchor point tool (within the pen tool) to add two anchor points either side of the bottom anchor point on the left eye. Next use the direct selection tool to move that bottom anchor point upwards slightly. For the right eye add two anchor points either side of the top anchor point and two either side of the bottom anchor point and , once again, use the direct selection tool to move the anchor points to obtain the desired shape. Don't be too particular though as the eyes or eyebrows may cover any wobbly looking lines.


5. Now to add the eyeballs; once again start by using the elliptical shape tool to create two ellipses for the eyes, colour these layers blue and name them 'left eyeball' and 'right eyeball'. Next add an inner shadow to the eyeballs using the options shown in the image below. If the eyeball appears below the eye just drag and drop its layer above the eye layer in the layers window.


6. The pupils of the eyes will once again be started by using the elliptical shape tool to create the shapes. Next colour the shapes layers black and name them 'left pupil' and 'right pupil'. To complete the pupils add a bevel and emboss as shown in the image below.


7. We will now complete the eyes by rotating the eyeballs and pupils slightly and positioning and resizing them as necessary to match the image below. Don’t worry that the right eyeball is out of the eye as the eyebrow will cover this.


8. To create the eyebrows we will be using the pen tool. Click and drag to create the curved line anchor points used to create the shape of the eyebrow. Don't be too particular about the shape to start just be sure to join the last anchor point to the initial anchor point to complete the shape. You can then use the direct selection tool to move the anchor points around to achieve a better shape. Finally colour the eyebrows orange.


9. To complete the face of our character we will use the pen tool to create a quizzical smirk and for a little detail use the elliptical shape tool to create cheeks. Colour the cheeks either one tone darker or lighter than the yellow of the face and colour the mouth the same orange as the eyebrows.


10. The last parts of our little cartoon character are the arm and hand. To keep the quizzical look going we want to have the arm and hand scratching the chin (if he had one!) of our character. Similar to the eyebrows, we will use the pen tool to create the arm and hand in three separate shapes. First the arm. Use the pen tool to click and drag creating curved line anchor points and complete the shape by joining the final anchor point to the initial anchor point. Tip: The fewer anchor points you can use the smoother the curve on the arm will be, 6 anchor points would be enough if you can manage it!



11. Finally the hand is made up of 2 shapes, a simple warped ellipse for the wrist and then a detailed shape representing a hand with thumb and fore finger stretched out with the other fingers closed; only showing knuckles. Take your time to create these shapes and remember to complete the shape by joining the final anchor point to the initial anchor point. Don't be too particular about getting the shape perfect the first time around as you can always use the direct selection tool to move the anchor points around or even add or remove anchor points using the appropriate tools.

12. For added detail add an inner shadow to the hand and wrist shape using the options show in the image below.

The completed emoticon style cartoon character should now look something like this. Hope you enjoyed the tutorial, now how about trying to create different emoticon cartoons.


Baca selengkapnya

Jumat, 22 Januari 2016

Photoshop: Lasso Tool

Photoshop: Lasso Tool

Step 1: 

You can find the Lasso Tool, third from the top in the single column tool bar.



Or if your tool bar is in double column layout, second from the top, on the left.

Step 2:

Right click on the lasso tool and make sure the top tool in the sub menu is selected. Also you can select the Lasso tool by pressing the ‘L’ key in Photoshop.

Step 3: 

The basic premise of the lasso tool is to left click and hold on the screen and move the lasso line around the outline of the area you want to select. It’s usually good practice when learning the lasso tool to choose items or objects with a definite outline. Fuzzy and obscure furry objects can prove problematic. Take for example, this cup of coffee…


Pick any point on the outline of the saucer of the cup and move the cursor gradually around the object, holding the left mouse button through out, until you are back at the point of initiation. It is important to fully enclose the desired area with the lasso tool, if you do not complete the shape, Photoshop by default will finish the shape for you, with a straight line from where you released the left click to where it was originally pressed.

Then release the left mouse button and the object will be surrounded by what is commonly known as “marching ants”. When starting to select the item a general outline of the object is sufficient, you can go in to detail later with the add and subtract methods. 

Step 4:

When you attempt the fine details it’s a generally a good idea to avail of Photoshop’s zoom tool. You can do this by using the by pressing and holding Ctrl + Space barand left clicking where you want to zoom in. You can also zoom out in a similar fashion by pressing and holding Alt + Space-bar and left clicking to move out. You can then navigate by holding the Space-bar, left clicking and dragging on the screen and therefore dragging the view around the image.

Step 5:

If you have cut in on the area you were supposed to outline, you can use the Add to Selection mode by holding down Shift and left clicking. Just like with original shape you defined, if you do not complete the shape, Photoshop will finish the shape with a straight line, and in a lot of cases you will be left with a, perhaps undesired, island of deselected image.

Step 6:

Likewise if you have gone too far away from the outline and you need to remove some of the Lassoed image you can use the subtract key, by pressing down the Alt and holding down Alt. Again if you do not complete the shape Photoshop will complete it for you with a straight line possibly giving you an isolated island of selected image.

Step 7: 

After you have defined the shape you want, press and hold Ctrl + Shift + I to inverse the selection. Then left click on the Image, then click Adjustments. 

Step 8:

Once in the Adjustment sub-menu click Hue/Saturation. Then bring the Saturation down to 0, or the toggle bar all the way to the left. 

Step 9: 

Enjoy.

Photoshop: Lasso Tool







Baca selengkapnya

Kamis, 21 Januari 2016

Photoshop: Quick Selection Tool


Before & After

Step 1: 

Select the quick select tool. If your tool bar is in the single column it can be found fourth tool from the top, or alternatively press w key on the keyboard.


Step 2: 

Then simply left click inside the part of the image you are trying to define. You can re-size the Quick Selection Tool cursor by pressing the left bracket key [ to make the cursor smaller or right bracket key ] to make it bigger.

Step 3: 

To start, it's best just to make a simple outline and then work in the details later.



Step 4:

 If you want to deselect a certain area, you can by pressing and holding down Alt and left clicking on the area you want to deselect. Or alternatively by clicking the Subtract from selection mode in the toolbar. But by default the Quick selection tool is in the Add to selection mode. 

    

Step 5: 

 For the areas you can see through the windows you will need to use the Subtract from selection mode.

Step 6: 

Manipulate your image as you please, in this case we're going to press Shift + Ctrl + I  to select the inverse of the selected shape, in other words deselect the area that is and select the area that isn't. Then left click on the Image, then Adjustments. 


Step 7:

Once in the Adjustment sub-menu click Hue/Saturation. Then bring the Saturation down to 0, or the toggle bar all the way to the left. 



....And finally, the final results. 










Baca selengkapnya

Kamis, 10 Desember 2015

Check Out Our Photoshop Tutorials


Photoshop Tutorials
Check out our Photoshop Tutorials

Adobe Photoshop is the industry standard in raster graphics editing, such that the word "Photoshop" has become a verb as in "to Photoshop an image," "photoshopping," and "Photoshop contest," etc. It can edit and compose raster images in multiple layers and supports masks, alpha compositing and several color models including RGB, CMYK, Lab color space, spot color and duo-tone. Photoshop has vast support for graphic file formats but also uses its own PSD and PSB file formats which support all the aforementioned features. In addition to raster graphics, it has limited abilities to edit or render text, vector graphics (especially through clipping path), 3D graphics and video.

Learn how to use Photoshop or just specific elements of it using our Photoshop tutorials.



Baca selengkapnya

Rabu, 04 Maret 2015

How to set up margins and guidelines in Photoshop

Rulers Set up in Photoshop
Rulers Set up in Photoshop
In this tutorial you will learn how to set up the use of Rulers in Photoshop. Rulers are use to help you to position images and text in the exact position you require when using Photoshop.


Step One:

Select file and new and create a new file. I have chosen the settings off 8.5 inches for the width, 11 inches for the height, with 300 for the resolution and RGB color for the color mode.


Setting up a new file for Photoshop
Setting up a new file for Photoshop

Step Two:

For this demo I am going use some text to show how using rulers can position your text correctly.

Sample of a new canvas for setting up the ruler example

Step Three:

To set up the rulers manually, click view and a drop down menu will appear.

View drop down menu in Photoshop

Click to turn the rulers on. A guide will then appear with numbers on the top (Horizontal) and on the left hand (Vertical) side of the page. This is your rulers guide.

Image of Rulers as the appear in Photoshop


Step Four:
Now with your mouse, hover over the numbers until a white cursor appears. Click and drag down the top line and place onto the template at desire level. Clicking and the pulling down of the rulers (Horizontal).


Adding of the Rulers (horizontal)

Bring the rulers in from the left hand size (Vertical)

Adding of Rulers (Vertical)

All the rulers in place.

All the Rulers in the correct positions

Step Five:

As you can see from the above image the text is on the outside of the rulers on the left hand side. To move the text into the correct place, select the text layer, on the right hand size and with the move tool and move into position. 

Rulers and Text in the correct position

Step Six:

You can also set up the rulers to the exact measurement required. To do this, again select view, and the drop down menu will appear, scroll down and select “New Guides”. A pop up menu will appear and you are able to select the correct measurement for the rulers by selecting either horizontal or vertical position.

Drop down menu once selected the View option on Photoshop

Pop up menu to select the correct measurements 

Selecting the measurements in the New Guide

For this demo I selected the measure for the Horizontal (top) for 3cm, with the Vertical (left side) set also at 3cm. Again for the bottom Horizontal and right side Vertical set the setting to this time 3mm for the rulers to appear.  Example show in the images below.



Creating the Horizontal Ruler with the correct measurement

New guides rulers for Horizontal and Vertical (3cm)

Horizontal and Vertical rulers appearing in Photoshop


Rulers in place after creating them with the new guide option in the view section of Photoshop. To move the text into the correct place, select the text layer, on the right hand size and with the move tool and move into position. 

Rulers and Text in the correct position on Photoshop
Baca selengkapnya